Reports out of Northwest Atlanta state that an officer was struck by a drunk driver at an intersection this past Monday evening.
It has been reported that the alleged drunk driver has been arrested and convicted of two other DUIs in DeKalb and Gwinnett. She has been accused of driving under the influence and of causing the accident between herself and the officer.
As an Atlanta DUI Lawyer, I will outline the potential consequences of a third DUI conviction in Atlanta in today's post.
Consequences for a Third DUI in Atlanta
However, when a person has been convicted of several DUIs in the state of Georgia, the penalties are seriously exaggerated. A third DUI charge is a high or aggravated misdemeanor in the state of Georgia, and if convicted for a third DUI offense, you will be declared a “habitual violator” under Georgia law. A third DUI means your third DUI within the past 10 years, with the clock starting on the date of arrest for your first DUI charge.
The penalties for a third Georgia DUI can include:
12 - 36 months of probation (depending on whether there are other associated offenses)
120 days to 12 months in jail ( a minimum of 15 days must be served; however few people only get 15 days)
Fine of $1000 - $5000
240 hours of community service
5 years of license suspension
Surrender of License Plate
Mandatory Treatment DUI Court Programs
Court Supervised Intensive Alcohol and Drug Treatment
Publication of Photo in the local newspaper
Being Declared a Habitual Violator
Status of High and Aggravated Misdemeanor with fines up to $5000
However - as with any arrest - just because you have previous DUI convictions does not mean that you are guilty of a subsequent DUI if arrested. The reality is that subsequent DUI convictions do not work in your favor, but we also understand that these previous convictions should not be held against you.
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI in Atlanta, contact an Atlanta DUI Attorney as quickly as possible. We will fight for you regardless of the circumstances.