You may have been pulled over by the police, and the next thing you know, the cops are taking away your driver's license, and all they give you is a piece of paper that acts as your temporary driver's license. If you didn't call an Atlanta DUI lawyer in the next 30 days, you may have lost your shot at keeping your license. What are you supposed to do if your license was suspended because of a DUI, and you need to get to work or school? For most people who have their first DUI, there is a limited driving permit, which will reinstate you most necessary driving privileges.
How Do You Get a Limited Driving Permit After a DUI?
Not all drivers are eligible for a limited driving permit. If you are not eligible, that may mean you'll have to wait out your entire suspension period, and complete any license reinstatement requirements before you can get your license back. This usually requires submitting a certificate of completion from a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction program, and a $210 license reinstatement fee.
Drivers under 21 who are convicted of a DUI will not be eligible for a limited driving permit. If you refused to submit to a chemical test after a DUI arrest, (for drivers under or over 21) then you may be ineligible. This is not the same as the field breath test, which is not mandatory, but only applies to blood, urine or breath tests after a DUI arrest, which are mandatory under Georgia's implied consent laws.
Before you think of driving on a suspended license, you should understand what may be at risk. If you are on probation for a DUI, then driving on a suspended license will be a violation of your probation. It may take longer for you to get your regular license back, and you can be charged for driving on a suspended license and face additional penalties. Even if you are going to court to try and get your license back, you cannot drive on a suspended license.
For most drivers with their first DUI arrest in 5 years, they may apply for a limited driving permit in Georgia. You will need the court to provide an affidavit that you only have one DUI conviction within the past 5 years, by asking a judge to complete the Department of Driver Services form 1126, or a first DUI conviction court affidavit. In addition to the $25 fee, the DDS will be able to provide a hardship driving permit. While this will allow you some driving, you will not be able to drive anywhere at anytime. You will still have to wait for your license suspension period to end before you can apply for full license reinstatement.
A limited driving permit will allow you to drive to:
- Work: to and from, and during the course of work;
- School: to and from;
- Medical Care: for schedule appointments and to obtain prescription drugs;
- Substance Abuse: to attend regular meetings or sessions; and
- DUI School: to attend court-ordered driver education or alcohol or drug abuse risk programs.
Your limited driving permit may also limit the times you can travel, the routes you can travel, and any other specific places you will be allowed to operate a vehicle.
Atlanta DUI Defense Lawyer
If there is still time, you can fight your license suspension and keep your full driving privileges. However, you only have 30 days after a DUI arrest to challenge an ALS hearing. If you have been charged with a DUI anywhere in Georgia, give Lawson and Berry a call, so you can keep your license to drive, and stay out of jail.