You Must Request an ALS Hearing Within Thirty Days.
After an Atlanta DUI, the ALS hearing is your chance to fight an automatic driver's license suspension that can last for a year or more. It is important to understand how the ALS hearing process works and what may be at risk, or you may lose you only opportunity to fight an administrative license suspension.
You may be able to handle your own ALS hearing request, but I strongly recommend at least speaking with a skilled, experienced DUI defense lawyer here in the Atlanta Metro area first. This is because the hearing must be requested in a certain way, within a certain amount of time, and supported by a basis for winning the hearing. If you speak with a Georgia DUI lawyer, they will let you know how the process works, and make sure you have all the information you need to decide whether to represent yourself or seek out a professional who can fight for your rights.
Thirty Day Time Limit
One of the first obstacles you will encounter is the 30 day rule. You only have 30 days after your arrest to request an ALS hearing. If you wait just one day longer, or the hearing request doesn't include all the required information, then you risk losing your license for a year, which can affect your job, your family, and your life.
Make sure your hearing request is in writing, includes the proper address, includes an administrative hearing request fee of $150, and includes the relevant a contact information. However, the licensee must also include the basis for winning an ALS hearing. Depending on what happened in your case, this may include extensive research into legal and evidentiary issues surrounding DUI cases. Don't waste $150 and don't risk your only opportunity to fight for your license by being unprepared for the administrative hearing.
The Administrative Law Judge is only interested in hearing certain issues. An administrative hearing is not intended for you to plead to the court why you need to keep your driver's license, or that you are sorry for the incident. It is available for you to provide a legal or factual basis for why your license should not be administratively suspended. An experienced DUI lawyer can file the hearing request for you, and argue your case before the judge, to fight for you license to drive, and before the criminal judge to keep your record clean.
Georgia DUI Lawyer for ALS Hearing Requests
If you want to handle your own ALS hearing request, remember that you only have 30 days to prevent the automatic loss of your driver's license. If you don't formally request a hearing postmarked within 30 days of your arrest, complete with administrative fees, you lose your license, period. Don't wait another day, or you may lose your only chance to challenge an automatic one-year suspension. Call us today so we can discuss the ALS hearing, hearing request requirements, or other important DUI deadlines.