What Happens If You Get Caught Driving on a Suspended License?
The state of Georgia considers driving a privilege and not a right. When the Department of Driver Services takes away a person's right to drive, the police do not look kindly on driver's ignoring the suspension. Driving on a suspended license is a misdemeanor, and if it is combined with another criminal charge, the penalties can only increase. Multiple criminal charges shouldn't be handled alone. An Atlanta DUI lawyer with a record of success in representing people charged with driving on a suspended license can help stay out of jail, and keep a clean criminal record.
Georgia Suspended License
The DDS will suspend your driver's license for any variety of traffic offenses. This includes:
- Homicide by vehicle;
- Hit and run, or leaving the scene of an accident;
- Refusing a chemical test after a DUI arrest;
- Driving without insurance; or
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Once your license is suspended, that means no driving. Unless you have a limited driving permit, which may allow for driving to and from school or work, or for other limited purposes, any driving on a suspended license may mean an arrest.
After a DUI, your license will be suspended after 30 days as part of an administrative license suspension by the DDS. Unless you file an official request for an ALS hearing within 30 days after your arrest, your license will automatically be suspended. Contact your Atlanta DUI lawyer to file your 30-day-letter, and they will be able to represent you before the ALS hearing, to stop your license from being automatically suspended.
The only way to prevent an automatic DDS license suspension is to file a 30 day letter within thirty days after a DUI arrest. This will provide for an administrative license suspension hearing. Your Atlanta DUI lawyer will be able to file the hearing request on your behalf, and represent you before the hearing so that you can keep your license.
One problem many people experience after a DUI is that they drive to their DUI court hearing, and if the judge suspends their license, get right back into their car to drive home. In some cases, the police will wait for a driver to leave the courthouse, to see if they get back into their car to drive away, and arrest them for driving on a suspended license.
The penalties for driving on a suspended license include up to a year in jail, with a minimum of 2 days in jail. After a second or third conviction for driving on a suspended license, the minimum jail penalty is 30 days behind bars. This is in addition to a fine of up to $1,000 for a first offense, and up to $2,500 for a second or third offense.
Atlanta DUI Lawyer Defending Traffic Charges
If you have been arrested for driving on a suspended license, a conviction may mean additional jail time and fines you can't afford. But remember that an arrest does not have to end in a conviction. I have dedicated my professional career to defending people charged with driving on a suspended license, DUIs and other alcohol-related offenses. I will fight to make sure you get your license back and stay out of jail. Call me today, anytime day or night, and I will fight for you.